ShortlyAI for AI-Powered Writing Assistance

ShortlyAI for AI-Powered Writing Assistance

·

5 min read

As a freelance writer, I'm always on the lookout for tools to help boost my productivity. So when I first heard about ShortlyAI, I was instantly intrigued. Could this new AI-powered writing assistant really help me craft better content in less time?

So, I decided to give it a try to find out.

Why I Needed AI Writing Help in the First Place

Like many writers, I occasionally struggle with writer's block. Staring at a blank page unable to string together a coherent sentence is frustrating, to say the least. And being a freelancer often means having tight deadlines that don't accommodate temperamental muses.

In the past, I'd muscle my way through somehow to meet my deadlines. But the final content always felt a bit forced and lacked my usual creative flair. I knew there had to be a better way.

I'd heard about AI writing assistants but was skeptical they could provide a readable, engaging copy. But when I learned ShortlyAI was developed specifically for creative writing support, I was willing to give it a shot.

Signing Up and Getting Started with ShortlyAI

Registering for ShortlyAI was simple. After creating my account, I purchased credits allowing unlimited AI content generation. At $79 per month, it was not so reasonably affordable for a freelance writer like myself.

The interface was clean and unintimidating. I didn't have to fumble around to understand the basic functions.

To start a new document, I just began typing a prompt describing what I needed to be written. For my first test, I requested a simple blog post introducing the topic of container gardening.

I could immediately see ShortlyAI start formulating sentences in response to my prompt. Within seconds, I had the beginnings of a unique blog post.

Putting ShortlyAI to the Test Across Content Types

Impressed by how quickly ShortlyAI could whip up blog-style posts, I decided to push the AI writer further. Over several weeks, I used it to generate social media posts, fiction scenes, marketing copy, video scripts, and more.

ShortlyAI handled most basic assignments well. With clear prompting from me, it produced paragraphs that were grammatically sound and on topic.

However, for longer or more complex requests, the results could be hit or miss. Sometimes ShortlyAI would provide long-winded content that completely missed the style and tone I specified. Other times, it simply repeated itself without expanding on ideas.

Through trial and error, I learned how to frame effective prompts to help ShortlyAI better meet my needs. Being highly specific with word counts, keywords, formatting, style choices, and thematic direction resulted in much-improved results.

I also found letting the AI generate rougher drafts that I could then edit and polish myself worked quite efficiently. ShortlyAI excelled at getting basic concepts and copy in place while I handled intricacies like injecting brand voice or connecting ideas fluidly across paragraphs.

Optimizing My Writing Process with ShortlyAI

Learning how best to utilize ShortlyAI certainly involved a bit of a learning curve. But once I got the hang of prompt engineering and leveraging the AI as more of a jumpstart than an end-to-end writing solution, it became an invaluable asset in my process.

Here are some of the key benefits I’ve experienced by incorporating ShortlyAI as a supplemental writing aid:

  • Overcoming writer's block: When I'm struggling to make progress on a piece, letting ShortlyAI whip up some rough paragraphs gives me something to build upon.

  • Inspiring creative directions: The AI often interjects novel ideas I'd never have thought of otherwise but can refine them into great angles.

  • Saving research time: If I'm drafting content around a new or complex topic, ShortlyAI can rapidly generate an overview of key facts so I don't have to start researching from scratch.

  • Increasing productivity: Getting draft copy down faster leaves me more time for the strategic message shaping and wordsmithing I handle best.

  • Enabling collaboration: Being able to generate drafts instantly lets me share progress for early feedback from clients and colleagues.

Do be aware, that ShortlyAI should never fully replace human writing. As smart as this AI tool is, it still lacks human research capability, reasoning, and true originality.

However, by understanding its capabilities and limitations, writers can utilize ShortlyAI as an incredible productivity supercharger. It eliminates barriers to getting the initial ideas on paper so the uniquely human work of crafting resonant messaging can begin right away.

What Does the Future Hold for AI Writing Tools?

ShortlyAI represents one early milestone in an AI-fueled transformation that will fundamentally evolve how we write over the coming decade.

As algorithms grow more advanced, AI writing assistants like ShortlyAI will become capable of even heavier lifting during content creation. I expect they may one day competently produce complete readable drafts covering basic assignments.

Conclusion

However, even as the technology progresses, human oversight and intervention will remain critical for truly connecting with audiences. Machine learning cannot replicate emotional resonance or original thinking.

For now, the smartest approach is to embrace AI as a collaborative partner, not an adversary. Allow tools like ShortlyAI to alleviate drudgery so expert writers can focus on where our creative instincts still reign supreme.

Approached thoughtfully, AI promises to augur an exciting new era of enhanced productivity and quality across all facets of writing. ShortlyAI offers just one glimpse of these emerging possibilities in action today.